Spring cleaning of the sorts…

As I was frantically editing and posting my 365 pictures to facebook last night around 12:15am (Sooo far past my bedtime) I realized something. I think that at this point in my life I am more happy with the people I’ve surrounded myself with than I ever have been before. Whether they’re friends, or family, the whole lot of them are just golden.

A nice thing about being an “adult” is that you are no longer forced to see people you don’t want to see. In high school you’re more or less forced to spend five days a week with your classmates and acquaintances whether you like it or not, and lets face it…not all of them have winning personalities and not all of them are amazing good people, but you grin and bear it because you more or less have to. The wonderful thing about “adulthood” (in quotations because even when I’m 40 I don’t think I’ll feel like I’ve achieved the magical status of being “100% adult”) is that you have this wonderful ability to surround yourself with only the positive! You can keep the negative influences in your life if you really want to, but why? Everyone has poisonous people in their lives, but you are absolutely NOT obligated to ever speak to them again if you don’t feel the need to. Sure there is work once you get older, but you’re totally free to quit if you aren’t a fan of your coworkers. No one will bring you in for truancy for quitting your job.

This has potential to be incredibly offensive coming from me. I’m awful at keeping in touch, especially when it’s a long distance thing. I’m always worried that the people I really care about suddenly deciding they hate me because I can’t be bothered (Or mostly just can’t hear to save my life) to have a phone conversation every now and then. In most all cases I’ve ever encountered everyone is like that though, so no adverse effects of my flakiness have been brought up to me yet. I’m actually really lucky as far as disappearing and reappearing goes. I do this a lot. I have periods where I disappear from the face of the Earth for a while and don’t really see anyone, it doesn’t mean I don’t want to…mostly just that I’m feeling antisocial and really bogged down with other things. The people that I keep are usually extremely understanding of this though and to my surprise I get welcomed back with open arms every time. (Which I’m incredibly grateful for by the way) This really goes to prove my point though. They take me back because they know me well enough to know it isn’t personal, they’re good people and they don’t hold things like that against you.

It hasn’t always been like this, it’s taken a long time for me to get this selfish! If there is anything that I’ve learned over the last five or so years, it’s that you have to look out for yourself. In the end it is more or less your own fault if you’re unhappy with your life. Sure there are extenuating circumstances sometimes and negative situations in other people’s lives overlap in to yours. For the most part though, you really are in control of your own happiness. I think that (for me at least) the key to my own happiness begins with the people I surround myself with. Slowly but surely I’ve been able to cut the ones that take advantage of the fact that I’m a pushover, the ones that cause drama every chance they get, the easily offended, (it’s not your fault if you are, but I tend to offend the easily offended) the bad attitudes, and the fakies. I’m left with only the winners, the ones that are true friends and the ones that completely understand. I would honestly do anything for them, and I feel like for the first time in my life I can say that I am truly happy with the people I’ve surrounded myself with.

Photobucket

Not all of them are included obviously, but I probably have the best friends ever. I love this picture.
: )

(One more thing that I’ve noticed is that my blogs are super cheesey, I should write hallmark cards!)

About mackenziewho

I'm so bad at profiles...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring cleaning of the sorts…

  1. jaminicole says:

    I love this post. Because it’s the exact same way with me. And even though I’ve left the country, I know that my friends are SO GREAT that I won’t have any problem getting right back with my friends in December. And I love your friends toooooooooooo!

Leave a Reply

