Ch-ch-ch-ch Changes

So everyone has their goals when they leave high school. Most people get their degrees, move on with their lives and try to forget that they were ever in high school. Others don’t really do anything and seem to stay in the same mindset for years to come. Some people set little goals like; drink more water, lose fifteen pounds, get a full time job and see where you go from there. To each their own, some paths are probably better than others. When it comes down to it I can’t, and don’t really judge people on where they work, how much weight they lost, or what degree they have anyways.

I can’t really judge anyone anyways. I opted for the smaller achievable goals. I was unsure of what I really wanted when I got out of high school, which for me is fatal when trying to accomplish anything. So I just started from the ground up. I established a group of friends, I lost the fifteen pounds (and then some) made sure I was working out on a regular basis and making an effort to eat healthier, got a job that I didn’t hate, and tried to build up my self confidence which I was sorely lacking from sixth grade on. My most recent step was finding a “big kid job”, meaning a 9-5 Monday-Friday job that could potentially morph in to a career. Sadly the one that presented itself was banking, which I most definitely don’t have the heart for. Don’t get me wrong, this job pays well and has benefits, has improved my relationship in the sense that now that boyfriend and I are on the same schedule it makes it much easier to understand each other and spend time together (closing at the coffee shop wasn’t good for that). I can now wake up at 6 in the morning and not nod off in the middle of my day, which has been a problem in the past, mostly in classes. I’ll even take the fact that this job has made me realize that I could never be a banker as a plus. It’s made me move so far away from the things I enjoy in a job, that it’s managed to make me hone in on what I really want. Which is exactly what I thought I wanted all along. It’s made me realize that there isn’t any other job that I want except to be a teacher/work in a school.

The good thing about having a job that you dislike is that it makes you realize all the things that you absolutely cannot have in your final choice for a career. The biggest thing about banking that I can’t stand is that there is a complete lack of heart and compassion. It is totally fee and sales driven. There is little to no consideration for people’s personal situations, it’s cold and sterile and far too regulated for me. I do work for a small bank, so feeling valued as an employee isn’t really a problem here, though recently I was told that we get written up for using more than five sick days even though they give you seven a year, which makes absolutely no sense to me. Anyways, the bottom line is this; I’ve realized that I want a job that involves working with kids and some element of creativity, not even some, lots.

So now I have a new goal to add to my list! Get my ass in gear! Which mostly just means this; try and stick it out at the bank until at least October (I will hit my year mark at that point and that looks good on a resume) and take online classes come fall. I would start sooner but there is a lot going on this summer that requires me to be away from a computer with a reliable internet connection. After October (or sooner depending on the timing of school years) look for a job at a preschool or montessori or something that is relevant to a final career and doesn’t require a degree I don’t have yet.

So there you have it! I’m finally motivated to do something with my life. Thank you bank job for making me realize this is not what I want for myself.

Thank you Bowie for being oh so appropriate.

About mackenziewho

I'm so bad at profiles...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ch-ch-ch-ch Changes

  1. jaminicole says:

    yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!

    i never saw you as a banker. i saw you as a human being. and yay december/january times!

Leave a Reply

