Ra-Ra-Ra-RANDOM

People never cease to amaze me, in good ways and bad.

I was watching 7 pounds last night with Nick and for some reason it made me think of the people that I’ve known over the years, and ya know what? I’ve known some really strong people. People that have fought off cancer, people that have had to fight off other people in some form or another, people that have overcome terrible things in their lives and grown in to stronger more amazing people because of it. It just got me thinking about how I hope one day that will rub off on me…

I’m not really going to elaborate on that, I’m just lucky in that sense I suppose to have such amazing people to help me through my life. It would be nice if I realized that more often though, normally I insist on doing things my self even if I know I can’t. Live and learn I suppose.

I don’t really have much of a direction with this entry I just felt like writing.

Today is Nick’s birthday (Happy birthday boyfriend!) and I’m making us dinner. A while back I found a recipe for apple cider pork chops a while back and successfully made it. (http://www.kitchendaily.com/recipe/pan-seared-pork-chops-with-cider-sauce-150112/) I’m not big on pork chops but these are really good. So I’m making those with potatoes and apple sauce. He off handedly mentioned that was one of his favorite meals once so I logged it away for occasions like this. I won’t pretend that I know how to cook, but this recipe was pretty easy, so I’m excited to make it.

This weekend is memorial day, which means Sasquatch is happening. I didn’t get tickets in time though so I’m going to the Folklife Festival again, which is fine because last year was a blast. Tyler and I hung out in the beer garden for a good portion of it, there were awesome gyros to be had and we discovered the wonders of day drunk. Folklife is actually pretty cool, we spent the majority of our time in the beer garden last year, but we did wander quite a bit listening to all the weird music and looking at all the weird booths. I love it, I love that Seattle has these sorts of things.

I’ve been collecting DIY blogs like crazy lately. The only thing I want for my birthday is a decent sewing machine so I can start making all the amazing things I’ve been finding. My mom’s is pretty awful, she spent a bunch of money to get it fixed but it just jams after a few inches no matter what we do. I would love to be able to make clothes and possibly sell them on etsy.com or something, we shall see though. I’ve been feeling really accomplished because I’ve made to rompers in to dresses/tunics and when it comes down to it, that’s not very hard. I really love the idea of upcycling and modifying clothes though, I’ve been picking up a few things from thrift stores to play with when I get the sewing machine (I’m almost positive I am, if not as a present then I’ll save up for one!) It would be nice to be able to let hems out a little to make some of my dresses longer, they just don’t make them for girls that are 5’10” in decent lengths.

Ok cutting this off before it becomes a giant disjointed rant about something completely irrelevant. Before I do though, since its his birthday, I thought I’d share my favorite picture of Nick and I. I like it because it is basically “us” in a nutshell, I’m laughing at something that he got overly serious about and he looks like he is about to launch in to some sort of lecture on why whatever I was laughing at is serious.

Photobucket

This entry is pretty awful and random, I’ll keep it though. I’ve been feeling pretty random myself, not awful thankfully. I think its the weather.

About mackenziewho

I'm so bad at profiles...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

